Give Today! Support Randolph College
AboutAdmissionUndergraduateGraduateAcademicsUndergraduateGraduateStudent LifeAthleticsOutcomesAlumnae & AlumniParents & FamiliesInside RandolphAPPLYREQUESTVISITNEWSEVENTSSupport RandolphSearch

Randolph presents 2018 Academic and Leadership Awards

Randolph College presented numerous  students on Wednesday with academic and leadership awards. The annual Academic and Leadership Awards ceremony honors students who excelled in their academic performance as well as demonstrated leadership at the College.

Academic Awards

Art and Art History

Rachel Trexler Ellis ’44 Art Prize for Excellence: Morgan Osburn and Stacey Samuels

Best Senior Paper in Art History: Desiree’ Page


Asian Studies

David Anthony Asian Studies Award: Mengjin Sun



Sophomore Biology Award: Kirby Tidmore

Ann Grant Gerhardt Scholarship: Reilly Wren

Marnie Reed Crowell Summer Field Study: Lydia Edwards

Grace Taylor Wiltshire HA Award: Tetiana Polikova



CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award: Alyssa Watson and Sydney Spruill

Undergraduate award in Physical Chemistry: Jeffrey Laub

Department Senior Award: Sophia Dill

James Lewis Howe Award: Drucilla Williams


Communication Studies

Carla Heath/James Hoban Award: Elizabeth Beamon and Hannah Overstreet

James Carey/Marie Nichols Award: Abigail Bodnar



Genia Melikova Award: Lauren Taylor

Rebecca Jung Award: Katie Reep

Sally Spencer Award: Emalie Lawson and Katie Horne

Helen McGehee Award: Mekenzie Schmitt

Eleanor Struppa Departmental Award: Meagan Swithers


Economics & Business

Carl Stern Award for Excellence in Economics: Taylor Samuels

Stan Marshall Award for Excellence in Business: Jessica Burroughs



Halley Brook Smith Excellence in Elementary Intern Teaching: Nour Elkhamra

Kathleen Bowman Education Research Award: Stephanie Quirk



1st Prize, The Academy of American Poets Prize for “In Bardo”: Cameron Weeks

2nd Prize, The Academy of American Poets Prize for “Impiety”: Jena Davis

3rd Prize, The Academy of American Poets Prize for “Late Night Drive”: Jordan Kirkpatrick

The John P. Kirby Award for Explicator Prize for “The Sublime:  Transcendence and Abstraction”: Cameron Weeks

Margaret I. Raynal Creative Prose for the Short Story “The Fourth Wall”: Jena Davis

The Sarah I. Davis Prize for “Rockin’ the Boat:  How Fitzgerald Connects Gatsby and the Sea”: Travis Byram


Environmental Studies

Student Activist Award: Marie Abowd

Outstanding Environmental Studies Student: Paige Edwards

Senior Award in Environmental Studies: Jessy Spencer and Allison Brooks



Prix de Langue et Civilisation Francaise: Joshua Propst

Prix de l’Alliance Française: Lydia Hamd



Laura Lee Cannon Stephens ‘11 Prize in History: Seaver Sterling



Outstanding First/Second Year Student: Jude Quintero

Hastings Award: Taylor Samuels



Instrumental Promise Award: Hailey Gilman



Outstanding First Year Student: Brandon Kaiser

Outstanding Contributor to Physics Education: Leif Kvarnes

Outstanding New Physics Major: Bill Pham

Outstanding New Engineering Major: Jude Quintero


Political Science

Outstanding Student Leader in Global Studies: Erin Fain

Outstanding Senior in Political Science: Lauren Moore



Frank Murray Award: George Atmore and Dung Nguyen


Religious Studies

Edwin A. Penick Award: Rachel Beaver



Shirley W. Strickland Award: Katie Godwin

Outstanding Senior: Ayla Hagen


Sport and Exercise Studies

Outstanding Sport and Exercise Achievement: Lauren Morris



Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship: Travis Byram, Elizabeth Beamon, Shannon Baskin, and Eric Huber

Outstanding Contributor in Theatre: Ho’ola Bush

Academic Achievement Award in Theatre: Shannon Baskin


Center for Student Research

Outstanding Poster at the Symposium of Artists &Scholars: Kelsey Fastabend

Outstanding Oral Presentation at the Symposium of Artsists & Scholars: Drucilla Williams

Writing Board Best Writing in Social and Behavioral Arts Paper: Bobbie Houser

Best Arts and Letters Paper: Desiree’ Page


Summer Research

Summer Research Program Best Oral Presentation: Taylor Samuels

Summer Research Program Best Poster Presentation: Tyrah Cobb-Davis and Elizabeth Exline


Academic Services Center

Tutor of the Year: Mekenzie Schmitt


Leadership award winners and recognitions


Academic and Support Services Tutor of the Year

Mekenzie Schmitt


Outstanding Davenport Leader

Kaitlyn Hevey


Outstanding Contributor

Jon Powell


3-Year Service Award

Kati Biggs

Taylor Lawrimore


4-Year Service Award

Daniel Young


Dorothy Hughes Award

Rebekah Griffith

Arnav Upadhyay


Student Activities

Outstanding MAC Board Member

Brianna Williams


Outstanding MAC Executive Member

Megan Henning

Ryan Mahoney


Outstanding Contributor to Intercultural Awareness

Igor Ngabo



Tori “Tea” Green



Sophia Dill


Outstanding Behind-the-Scenes Contributor

Arnav Upadhyay


ABCD (Above and Beyond the Call of Duty)

“The Science Festival Interns”

Bill Pham

Ericka Jacobs

Cailean Parker

Joe Vazquez

Hailey Gilman

Kristen Thomson

Kyle Miller

Leif Kvarnes

Matt Williams

Paige Edwards


Continued Excellence Award (for faculty and staff)

Carolyn Sarson, sport and exercise studies professor


Virginia Hill Worden Exemplary Leadership

Amadou Beye


Volunteer Leadership 

Kati Biggs


Deans’ Leadership

Tetiana Poliakova


Student of the Year

Jon Powell


American Association of University Women

Nour Elkhamra


Student Government Officers (2017-2018):

Tetiana Poliakova, President

Tori “Tea” Green, Vice President

Kati Biggs, Treasurer

Jackie Parman, Secretary and Parliamentarian

Travis Byram, Publicity Officer

Georgia LeGrand Carney, Judiciary Chair

Leo Galopin, Judiciary Vice Chair


Community Fellows (2017-2018)

Kaleb Gebrekirstos

Brittany Lundy

Wil Ridley


Davenport Leadership Institute (2017-2018)

Gracyn Allen-Ingle

Alex Arce

Abby Bodnar

George Darko-Boateng

Dianne Davis

Leah Dorman

Kaleb Gebrekirstos

Brooks Gillerlain

Kaitlyn Hevey

Nick Junkin-Mills

Gabe Krueger

Jon Powell

Priscilla Ranjitkar

Sara Primm

Allen Vaytser

Kyle Wade

Brianna Williams


Macon Activities Council (2017-2018)

Mackenzie Ambrose

Hannah Bradley

Tyrah Cobb-Davis

Libby Exline

Brooks Gillerlain

Megan Henning

Kaitlyn Hevey

Katie Horne

Courtney Hughes

Adam Johnson

Gabe Krueger

Riley Lorson

Ryan Mahoney

Kyle May

Sam Mott

Kristine Perdergast

Mikki Salerno

Da’Quan Saunders

Allen Vaytser

Kaila Washington

Bri Williams

Elaina Whorton


Residence Life Staff (2017-2018)

Marie Abowd

Alex Arce

Kati Biggs

Tyrah Cobb-Davis

Dianne Davis

Lydia Edwards

Leo Galopin

Rebekah Griffith

Kaitlyn Hevey

Taylor Lawrimore

Lauren Morris

Alex Murgas

Igor Ngabo

Bill Pham

Kennedi Poland

Jon Powell

Priscilla Ranjitkar

Victoria Senn

Ashley Schmitz

Arnav Upadhyay

Emily Vaughn

John Warren

Jennifer Weigle

Daniel Young

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
  • Archives

  • Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn YouTube RSS Feeds Snapchat