Give Today! Support Randolph College
AboutAdmissionUndergraduateGraduateAcademicsUndergraduateGraduateStudent LifeAthleticsOutcomesAlumnae & AlumniParents & FamiliesInside RandolphAPPLYREQUESTVISITNEWSEVENTSSupport RandolphSearch

Randolph honors students with 2017 Academic and Leadership Awards

Randolph College students were recognized on Wednesday with numerous academic and leadership awards. This annual event honors students who have excelled in their academic performance as well as demonstrated leadership at the College.


Academic Departmental Awards included:


Art and Art History

Rachel Trexler Ellis ’44 Art Prize for Excellence in Art: Cole W. Schreiner and Melissa C. Pasierb



Sophomore Biology Award: Reilly M. Wren

Ann Grant Gerhardt Scholarship in Biology: Tetiana Poliakova

Grace Taylor Wiltshire HA Award: Emily G. Ward

Marnie Reed Crowell Summer Field Study: Kati Biggs



Department Senior Award: Drucilla A. Williams

CRC Press Chemistry Achievement Award: Kaitlyn R. Hevey

Undergraduate award in Analytical Chemistry: Jacquelyn E. Parman



Exemplary Classics Student: Gabe N. Kuhl

Classics Latin Diploma Contest: Gabe N. Kuhl


Communication Studies

Carla Heath/James Hoban Award: Sadie G. Slaff



Rebecca Jung Award: Emalie L. Lawson and Blayne K. Stine

Genia Melikova Award: Katie M. Reep

Sally Spencer Award: Mekenzie L. Schmitt

Helen McGehee Award: Megan V. Swithers

Eleanor Struppa Departmental Award: Amy M. Gertesien


Economics & Business

Carl Stern Award for Excellence in Economics: Emily E. Phillips

Stan Marshall Award for Excellence in Business: Lore’l A. Wright



Kathleen Bowman Education Research Award: Nour J. Elkhamra and Jennifer L. Sanborn



Charlotte Stephenson Oresman ’41 Prize for Humor: Travis D. Byram

Margaret I. Raynal First-Year Essay Award: Rebecca C. Jones

1st prize Margaret I. Raynal Fiction Award: Alexis T. Collins

2nd prize Margaret I. Raynal Fiction Award: Keion J. Robinson

Academy of American Poets 1st Prize: Jacob A. Collins

Academy of American Poets 2nd Prize: Amelia A. Harrington

Academy of American Poets 3rd Prize: Holden S. Easterbrook


Environmental Studies

Outstanding Environmental Studies Student: Margaret J. van Beek

Senior Award in Environmental Studies: Caitlin R. Jones



Prix de l’Alliance Française: Alyssa S. Umberger

Prix de Langue et Civilisation Francaise: Alyssa S. Umberger



Lura Lee Cannon Stephens ‘11 Prize in History: Sarah R. Biegelsen and Natalie R. Miller



Outstanding First-Year Student: Thinh Pham and Anh Phuong Bui

Catherine I. Hastings Prize in Mathematics: Anh Vo



Instrumental Promise Award: Emily G. Ward



Outstanding First-Year Student in Physics: Thinh Pham

Outstanding Contributor to Physics Education: William Z. Vernon

Outstanding New Major in Physics: Andrew P. Hayden

Outstanding Senior Major in Physics: Ashley V. Koler


Political Science

Outstanding Student Leader in Global Studies: Caitlin R. Jones and Brian P. Anderson

Outstanding Senior in Political Science: Eva J. Heitbrink



Frank Murray Award in Psychology: Ashley L. Dudding, Darian M. Thornton, and Leah N. Hughes

Outstanding Academic Achievement Award in Psychology: Machaela D. Barkman


Religious Studies

Edwin A. Penick Award in Religious Studies: William R. Andress



Outstanding Senior in Sociology: Penelope A. Doss and Brian P. Anderson

J. Kenneth Morland Award for Best Senior Paper in Sociology: Brian P. Anderson

Shirley W. Strickland Award in Sociology: Camille E. Gallagher


Sport and Exercise Studies

Outstanding Sport and Exercise Achievement: Maggie Croft



Academic Achievement Award in Theatre: Shannon C. Baskin

Outstanding Contributor in Theatre: Elizabeth R. Beamon and Machaela D. Barkman

Irene Ryan Acting Compettion nomination: Marianne L. Virnelson, Lucille H. Kindstrand, Lydia A. Edwards, and Morgan J. Wardlaw


Academic Achievement Awards included:


Center for Student Research

Summer Research Program Best Oral Presentation: Jacquelyn E. Parman, Callan C. Frye, and Di Bei

Summer Research Program Best Poster Presentation: William Z. Vernon


Maier Museum of Art at Randolph College

Helen Owen Calvert Writing Award: Melissa Vandiver


Writing Board

Best Arts and Letters Paper: Penelope A. Doss

Best Writing in Social and Behavioral Arts Paper: Lydia Hamd


Leadership Awards included:


Student of the Year Award: Caitlin Jones

Dean’s Leadership Award: Erin McClelland

Volunteer Leadership Award: Leah Hughes

Rachel Dean Memorial Award: Eva Heitbrink

The Virginia Hill Worden Exemplary Leadership Award: Diana Young

ABCD (Above and Beyond the Call of Duty) Award: Igor Bruce Ngabo Rwaka

American Association of University Women Give-a-Grad-a-Gift Award: Penelope Doss

Continued Excellence Award (formerly the Advisor of the Year Award): Bunny Goodjohn

Davenport Leader of the Year: Dianne Davis

Dorothy Hughes Award: Kati Biggs

Initiative Award: Thao Nguyen

Outstanding Board Member Award (MAC): Courtney Hughes

Outstanding Executive Committee Member Award (MAC): Katya Schwab

Outstanding Behind-the-Scenes-Contributor: Rebecca Lesnak

Outstanding Contributor to Intercultural Awareness: Drucilla Williams

Student-Mentor Award: Zach Vernon

Tutor of the Year: Caitlin Jones

Three-Year Service Award (Residence Life): Annaleise McKenzie, Anthony Quinn, Katya Schwab, Samantha Fagg, Sarah Sirker

Gold Key Guide Awards: Caitlin Jones, Erin Campbell, Eva Heitbrink, Leah Hughes, Marianne Virnelson, Natalie Miller, Sarah Biegelsen, Tia Jones

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
  • Archives

  • Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn YouTube RSS Feeds Snapchat