Give Today! Support Randolph College
AboutAdmissionUndergraduateGraduateAcademicsUndergraduateGraduateStudent LifeAthleticsOutcomesAlumnae & AlumniParents & FamiliesInside RandolphAPPLYREQUESTVISITNEWSEVENTSSupport RandolphSearch

Randolph announces 2020 Phi Beta Kappa inductees

During a special ceremony on Saturday, 10 members of the Class of 2020 were inducted into the Randolph College chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest and most prestigious honor society.

The inductees were:

Meredith Leigh Alwine
George Darko-Boateng
Katherine Mariah Gibson
Kaitlyn Rose Hevey
Sarah Aranda Mueller
Alexandra L. Murgas
Ly Phuong Linh Nguyen
Sara M. Primm
Jude Quintero
Allen J. Vaytser

In 1916, the College, then named Randolph-Macon Woman’s College, received the first Phi Beta Kappa charter granted to an independent woman’s college in the South, and the Delta Chapter of Virginia was officially installed the following year.

Founded on December 5, 1776, The Phi Beta Kappa Society is the nation’s most prestigious academic honor society. It has chapters at 286 colleges and universities in the United States, 50 alumni associations, and more than half a million members worldwide. Noteworthy members include 17 U.S. presidents, 39 justices of the Supreme Court of the United States, and more than 130 Nobel Laureates. The mission of The Phi Beta Kappa Society is to champion education in the liberal arts and sciences, foster freedom of thought, and recognize academic excellence.

Tags: , , ,
  • Archives

  • Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn YouTube RSS Feeds Snapchat