Give Today! Support Randolph College
AboutAdmissionUndergraduateGraduateAcademicsUndergraduateGraduateStudent LifeAthleticsOutcomesAlumnae & AlumniParents & FamiliesInside RandolphAPPLYREQUESTVISITNEWSEVENTSSupport RandolphSearch

Randolph announces 2017 Phi Beta Kappa inductees

Phi Beta Kappa induction ceremonyFourteen members of the Class of 2017 have been inducted into the Randolph College chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest and most prestigious honor society.

The inductees were:

  • Brian Patrick Anderson
  • Emma Claire Cooke
  • Callan Calloway Frye
  • Eva Josephine Heitbrink
  • Caitlin Rebecca Jones
  • Shelby Lynn Koretke
  • Gabriel Nasturel Kuhl
  • Rachel Wynn Morris
  • Thao Phuong Nguyen
  • Erica Celeste Quinby
  • Katya Lynne Schwab
  • Sarah Maria Sirker
  • Alyssa S. Umberger
  • Emily Grace Ward

In 1916, Randolph-Macon Woman’s College received the first Phi Beta Kappa charter granted to an independent woman’s college in the South, and the Delta Chapter of Virginia was officially installed the following year.

Founded on December 5, 1776, The Phi Beta Kappa Society is the nation’s most prestigious academic honor society. It has chapters at 286 colleges and universities in the United States, 50 alumni associations, and more than half a million members worldwide. Noteworthy members include 17 U.S. presidents, 39 justices of the Supreme Court of the United States, and more than 130 Nobel Laureates. The mission of The Phi Beta Kappa Society is to champion education in the liberal arts and sciences, foster freedom of thought, and recognize academic excellence.

Tags: , , ,
  • Archives

  • Facebook Twitter Instagram LinkedIn YouTube RSS Feeds Snapchat